The Eric B. Calimag Yellow Rock Award

"Yellow Rock" (a friendly hug in square dance terms) is a common signal to square dancers. In 1995, our long time class instructor and caller, Lin Jarvis, donated the Yellow Rock Award to Chi-Town Squares to annually honor a club member for outstanding service. Each recipient then chooses whom to pass it along to the following year. 

Chi-Town's president in 1995, Steve Miller, awarded the first Yellow Rock Award to John Pope, the year of our first national convention. In 2005, the award was renamed the Eric B. Calimag Yellow Rock Award, in the memory of Eric Calimag, who passed away shortly after receiving the award in 2004.

Congratulations to all past and current recipients for their contributions to the success of Chi-Town Squares over the years.

2017John Wood   

2016Jeff Hutchins & David Stewart   

2015Rich Jentzen & Jim Cosenza   

2014Bob Siegel   

2013Kate Reed   

2012Richard Sehnert   

2011Arlene Kaspik   

2010Andrew Mondt   

2009Rick Simkin   

2008Rob Sierzega   

2007Nancy Vedder   

2006Larry Tradup   

2005Bob Sundal & Ken Jancy   

2004Eric Calimag   

2003Peter Holden   

2002Chuck Pease   

2001George Nelson   

2000Michael Brown   

1999Fred Steinhauer   

1998Mike Flynn   

1997Ian Henzel   

1996Allan Rosen   

1995John Pope